Guilt-less Desserts!

When I tell people I eat a plant based, unprocessed diet, they have such a look of pity on their faces sometimes.  It makes me laugh a bit inside because I can only imagine the thoughts that hide behind that look.  They must think my palate is screaming out for freedom from the prison of “healthy” food.

I went to a restaurant with some girlfriends not long ago and had to make a lot of “special requests” to my meal to accommodate my diet.  My waiter was more than understanding and truly helpful.  He even asked me questions about what I eat and why, which I always enjoy.  Then he says, “I couldn’t be vegan because I have a sweet tooth.”  He went on, and as he spoke I realized that he thought I didn’t eat dessert.  This is a total untruth.  I love dessert!  I tried (briefly) to explain to him that I eat dessert that I make from home or from a raw/vegan restaurant of my liking.  I just make certain substitutions: Soaked chia seeds for eggs, Cacao powder and nibs for chocolate/chocolate chips, Coconut oil for butter, Whole Spelt flour for white all-purpose flour, Maple syrup or maple sugar for processed sugars…etc. It is totally possible to make amazing desserts without processed sugar or dairy.  What do we make, you ask?  Cookies, Fudge, Brownies, Ice Cream, Pudding, Pie, Cake, Cupcakes, etc.  You name it!

Trust me, desserts are even more delicious when you can enjoy them guilt free!  And it blows my mind that something sinfully delicious can actually be good for me.

Take a gander at some of these treats, and then try and tell me I’m missing out!

wrv-foodie-post-27_large wrv-foodie-post-28_1024x1024 wrv-foodie-post-29_large wrv-foodie-post-33_large wrv-foodie-post-36_large wrv-foodie-post-38_large

Leave a comment